Monday, 25 October 2010

New Girl Unit EP on Night Slugs!

The infallible Night Slugs crew have put out a new release by Girl Unit today. Following hot on the heels of this year's 'IRL' EP, Girl Unit's new single 'Wut' sits at the dubbier end of the UKF spectrum.

Girl Unit's new EP wasn't wasn't even going to be released this early, but the gossip and bootlegs surrounding this dubby slice of UKF became too much for everyone and they were forced to put the single out soon as. The 'Wut' single comes out next Monday, October 25, and will also include the b-sides 'Every Time' and 'Showstoppa'.

You can nab a copy at Bleep, Boomkat, Juno and Rub A Dub.

Thursday, 21 October 2010

Flying Lotus - Kill Your Co-Workers [Video]

Taken from the 'Pattern + Grid World' EP on Warp Records.

KOTJ Radio | Episode 5: Willy Joy

The fifth edition of our (sort of) monthly podcast comes from Chicago's very own Willy Joy. With elements of electro, house, UK funky, pop, techno and heavy bass all coming to the fore, this is a well put together mix capable of getting just about everyone doing the running man.

His newest release with Rob Threezy on Trouble & Bass comes as part of their Heavy Bass Champions Of The World series. With his releases getting support from the likes of Diplo, Drop The Lime, Brodinski & Boy 8-Bit, this mix shows exactly why he has friends in high places.

Check out his Heavy Bass Champions Of The World X EP with Rob Threezy here and look out for a forthcoming release on Plant Music.


01. Alan 1 - Concertmate (Bobermann Remix)
02. Lauren Pritchard - Not The Drinking (Riva Starr Remix)
03. Robyn - With Every Heartbeat (Nacey Bootleg)
04. Heavyfeet - Here We Go Again
05. Foamo - Here Comes
06. Jazzbit - Sing Sing (Yolanda Be Cool & Dcup Dub)
07. Bart Bmore, Nom De Strip & Little Bastard - Bollymore
08. Bird Peterson - Dropsy
09. Homework - I Got One (You're It)
10. Willy Joy - A Woman Like Me (Hot Version)
11. Scissor Sisters - Any Which Way (Carte Blanche Remix)
12. Katy B - Louder
13. Ethix - Breaking Bad (Nick Catchdubs & Proper Villains Remix)
14. Human Life - Wherever We Are (Grum Remix)
15. RCMP - USA Groove (Burnso Remix)

Download: KOTJ Radio Episode 5: Willy Joy

Friday, 15 October 2010

New A-Trak tune on Fool's Gold!

Canadian boy wonder A-Trak (Kanye West's former tour DJ) has returned with a new tune 'Ray Ban Vision' with Kanye's new protégé CyHi Da Prynce. The track is to be released on the Fool's Gold Vol. 1, the debut compilation on Fool's Gold, on October 25.

While A-Trak's focus lays mainly within the field of electro/bass/house these days, he does have more than his fair share of hip-hop credentials, having won the DMC championships at the tender age of 15. The duo will be performing at the Fool's Gold third anniversary party which will be a part of Pitchfork's Offline Festival at Brooklyn Bowl, October 23.

Download: A-Trak - Ray Ban Vision feat. CyHi Da Prynce

Monday, 11 October 2010

Jayou - Zoot Money Promo Mix

To coincide with Jayou's new release on Skint he's put together a promo mix full of bass-heavy anthems we all know and love.

Jayou - Crack Hands
Pyrammid - Trouble
The Freestylers - Cracks (Flux Pavilion Remix)
Poirier - Enemies feat. Face-T
Snoop Dogg - Sensual Seduction (Wideboys Bassline Mix)
Jayou - Ghost
T.E.E.D. - Blood Pressure
The Party Squad - Murderer (Diplo & Jayou Remix)
Boogaloo Crew - Days Go By
Hudson Mohawk - Fuse (Depone Remix)
SX- Woo Riddim
Magnetic Man - Perfect Stranger (Benga Remix)
Duck Sauce - Barbra Streisand (Sigma Remix)
Boyz Noize - Yeah

Jayou x Zoot Money Mix by JAYOU

Celebrate 20 years of Ninja Tune!

To celebrate 20 years of Ninja Tune, XLR8R are putting out a month of podcasts by artists on the Ninja Tune rosta. The first mix is from Poirier and proves to be an incredible start to the series.

Be sure to check the XLR8R and Ninja Tune XX websites for exclusive content from all your favourite artists - there's bound to be some great treats on each.

Download: Poirier - XLR8R Podcast (07/10/2010)

Soul Jazz to release UK Funky compilation

Now that nobody cares about dubstep and UK Funky is pervading our collective consciousness like a nasty case of swine flu, Soul Jazz has decided to put together a well-timed UKF compilation. The two-disc set, entitled 'Riddim Box: Excursions In The UK Funky Underground', simultaneously acts as a starter point for anyone who's been living under a rock as well as a greatest hits of the scene.

The release comes hot on the tail of their well-received Future Bass compilation (which can be streamed from XLR8R here. The compilation features the likes of MJ Cole, Lil Silva, Kode9 and Ghosts On Tape and many more. You can grab your copy from the usual places from November 8. In the mean time, have a look at the tracklist, download the free MJ Cole mp3 and try not to hyperventilate.

01. Altered Natives - Rass Out
02. MJ Cole - Volcano Riddim
03. NB Funky - Riddim Box
04. Tubby T - Ready She Ready (Seiji Remix)
05. Sunship Feat. Warrior Queen - Almighty Father (Solid Groove Underground Souljah Mix)
06. Zumen Feat. Leafnuts and Aaron Phiri - Rolexx
07. Hard House Banton - Sirens
08. Ghosts On Tape - Predator Mode (Roska Remix)
09. Donae'o - African Warrior (Instrumental)

01. Stereotyp Meets Al Haca - Blaze 'N' Cook (Radio Slavermix)
02. Kode9 - Black Sun
03. Lil Silva - Pulse vs. Flex
04. LV Feat. Rubi Dan and Errol Bellot - Crossfire
05. Omar and Zed Bias - Dancing (Instrumental)
06. D-Malice - Gabryelle (Refix)
07. Grievous Angel - Move Down Low (Dubplate Mix)
08. DVA - Natty
09. Shystie - Pull It (Ill Blu Remix Instrumental)
10. Crazy Cousinz - Attract

Download: MJ Cole - Volcano Riddim

Thursday, 7 October 2010

New Roska and Untold collaboration

UKF pioneers Untold and Roska are set to release their first EP together on the highly-acclaimed Numbers label. Having danced around one creatively another with various remixes and shows, the two producers have finally decided to throw caution to the wind and make beautiful music together.

When asked why neither producer had selected their own imprints (Roska's Kicks And Snares and Untold's Hemlock), they explained that it made more sense for the two to meet in the middle so as to keep things on a level pegging.

The new EP is called 'Myth' and is available from Bleep, Boomkat, Clone, iTunes, Juno, Red Eye, Rub A Dub and Sounds Of The Universe.

Friday, 1 October 2010

DJ Aaron-Carl loses battle with cancer

It seems the current onslaught of rain and the recent departure of Mary Anne Hobbs from Radio 1 are not the only grim elements in our collective conscious. Yes, three certainly is the magic number as far as misery is concerned as news reaches us of the death of the genuinely legendary Aaron-Carl (nee Aaron-Carl Ragland).

After a well-publicised struggle with cancer Ragland passed away, despite posts on his Facebook and Twitter remaining positive to the last regarding his diagnosis and treatment. A quick scan of the internet reveals a mass of producers, journalists, DJs and fans alike mourning this loss on a personal level.

In a career spanning two decades, Aaron honed and advanced the Detroit house sound in a way that no other DJ could. While the Belleville Three (Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson and Derrick May) developed the sound in its infancy, it was Aaron-Carl who nurtured the scene and essentially bank-rolled labels such as Mahogani, Ovum, Underground Resistance/Soul City and his own Wallshaker Music imprint.

"Aaron knew how to move a crowd with an unprecedented warmth and love."